Australian arts jobs, news, industry commentary, career advice, reviews & data


What's On

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards - Call For Entries

This is a call out to creators of stories that contribute significantly to our understanding of Australian history. The Prime Minister’s Prize for Australian History seeks book and non-book entries. Non-book entries include films or documentaries intended for any form of distribution including television, cinema, website or interactive online projects, radio, and other forms of multimedia projects.  

The Prime Minister, the Hon Malcom Turnbull MP, and the Minister for the Arts, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield, have announced the opening of entries for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards (media release attached). The Prize for Australian History is a category of these prestigious awards.

Up to $100,000 will be awarded in the Australian history category. Book and non-book entries will compete for a $80,000 winner’s prize and $5,000 each is provided for the four shortlisted entries. Prizes are tax-free.

Entries close on Friday 2 June 2017.

The entry form and guidelines are available on the Department of Communications and the Arts website:

Please do not hesitate to forward on to your networks if you think they might have a work that should be considered for this prize.

Should you wish to discuss any of the above please do not hesitate to contact the awards team on telephone: 1800 707 889 or e-mail:


Tuesday 16 May, 2017
Friday 2 June, 2017

National, -

View website (opens in new window)
Awards & Prizes