McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery

Splash McClelland Contemporary Watercolour Award

Held at McClelland every three years, the Splash: McClelland Contemporary Watercolour Award was established to showcase Australian artists who work in the medium of watercolour.

It is an acquisitive award with funds from the Fornari Bequest, by the Will of the late Lena May Fornari, and is a legacy of her support for the arts in Victoria. Lena May was an ardent collector of works by the watercolourist Herbert Rose, which she also left to McClelland, and the first acquisitions through this Bequest were significant watercolours. Continuing this tradition, Splash focuses on contemporary watercolour practice.

In 2021 this acquisitive award will be granted to three outstanding original artworks in the medium of watercolour, which will all become part of the McClelland collection. Offering three awards will allow us to more broadly support artists during this challenging time.

The awards aim to promote artistic excellence, while expanding McClelland’s significant collection for the benefit of the local community as well as wider Australian and international audiences.

Please download the application form and apply through the McClelland website.

Image: Jennifer Mills, In the echo chamber (WARNING NUEAO, Brendan 1976-8), 2018. Splash McClelland Watercolour Award Winner 2018. Collection McClelland.


Tuesday 9 June, 2020
Friday 28 May, 2021
McClelland Sculpture Park and Gallery
Venue Address
390 McClelland Drive

Victoria , Langwarrin

McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery (opens in new window)
Awards & Prizes